Musical education has played a major role in Gábor Hollerung’s career from the very outset. In his orchestral series Understanding Music he analyzes and explains a single musical piece for the audience from concert to concert. Two pieces of this series are published here, using the written version of the live presentations.


Bartók: Divertimento

Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3

Mozart: Symphony No. 41 in C major, K 551, “Jupiter” Symphony

Brahms: Symphony No. 1

THE ANSWERED QUESTION? – Zoltán Kodály: Psalmus Hungaricus

THE DEMENTED ORDER – Béla Bartók: Concerto

CONDUCTOR’S ROLES Hommage á Kurt Masur – Dvořák: Symphony No. 8